Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Prayer Is A Discipline

Prayer is a Discipline
II Chronicles 7:14; “If My people who are called by name will humble themselves, and pray and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and heal their land.
Prayer is disciplining yourself to take time to talk to God and giving God time to talk to you.
In Genesis 18:16-33; we read of Abraham taking time in pleading conversation with God for Sodom and of God talking to Abraham. Moses talked to God about his people and God talked to Moses about the law for His people. David talked to God and God talked to David about his sins. Elijah talked to God and God to Elijah about the welfare of His people. Nehemiah talked to God and God talked to Nehemiah about rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem. Isaiah, Samuel, Daniel, Jeremiah, and even Jonah all took time to talk to God and God gave the time to talk to them. Jesus took time to talk to God the Father and God the Father took time to talk to Jesus about many things. I read in the Bible that the Father and Jesus are still talking to each other about you and me.
Does an athlete discipline his days for time to train?
Does the Coach have time to instruct his athlete?
Does the bee have no time for the flower?
Does the flower hide from the bee?
What sound kind of sound would you hear from an orchestra, which has no time for the conductor?
Do you think that the Great Conductor does not hear each individual note from all his musicians that make up the whole symphony?
A church that prays in One Accord will never become a drifting ghost ship manned by dead men.
Prayer is a discipline of your time you give to God and giving God your time for you. Running out of time for prayer is like the body running out of time for blood.
My dear Lord Jesus,
Hear my cry of repentance for the days of time I have wasted. In vain work, in vain play, in vain distractions, and just plain laziness of my time I could have invested with you. I have had an undisciplined expenditure of time not used for Your Glory, time I only wasted in my selfishness. Time You My Lord gave to me but I refused to give back to you. Please forgive me of this sin. For I shall repent of this sin.
Psalm 5:3
My voice you shall hear in the morning.
In the morning I will direct it to You,
And I will look up
Psalm 55:17
Evening and morning and at noon
I will pray and cry aloud
And He shall hear my voice

And I James will be still and know that you are:
The Great I AM, for You are my God,
Thank- you Jesus
Amen.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Prayer Is A Discipline

  1. This is so true. Especially the “Running out of time for prayer is like the body running out of time for blood.” I often think of that verse, “For in him we live, and move, and have our being…” Acts 17:28a. Everything I do, each choice I make, is built around the framework of my faith in God.
    I had an exchange with my cousin yesterday that hinged on this fact–which is going to give me another post in a few days. 🙂 She said, “What would you do if you had this happen to you?” But my reaction to her problem would be so different from hers — and my answer so ludicrous to her — because we look at life through such different eyes. (She says there is no God; prayer has never helped anybody that she can tell.)
    Thanks for your prayers. I was once much more as you describe yourself; turning to prayer all day long. I’d like so much to find that again, but it has seemed so often prayers go unanswered, as Pastor Park mentioned in his post. Over the years I’ve stopped asking as much and have been just letting God do what He wants in other people’s lives.
    Maybe it’s good just to open up and write this. Often it’s not until our attitudes are out in the open that we can see if we really want to go on thinking this way.

    • Christine, I agree with Pastor Parks, somewhere I have written something like this: You cannot argue God into doing things your way nor make Him do things according to your will. I have learned to aline myself with His Perfect Love, His Perfect Judgement, and His Perfect Wisdom. In doing this I see the answers to prayer. A lost love one turned over God to do as He Knows best and staying out of the way is hard but works and is Scriptural. That is what my earthy father did he did not rush in to fix the mess I was in, nor did he pray for my protection or healing just break me and save me. I believe that when one can pray like that you are showing true Love. This is when men around me say I am not being very loving and am a hard ass. I hope my words bring comfort and my prayers are at the throne even now, God bless.

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

Agape: Lifestyle Blog

I may be a mess, but I'm a beautiful mess because of Jesus

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand!

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

