Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

A Threefold Cord

A Threefold Cord
Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 NKJ
Two are better than one,
Because they have a good
reward for their labor.
For if they fall, one will lift up
his companion.
But woe to him who is alone
when he falls,
For he has no one to help
him up.
Again, if two lie down together,
they will keep warm;
But how can one be warm
alone?
Though one may be
overpowered by another, two
can withstand him,
And a threefold cord is not
quickly broken.
Do you think Solomon was writing about a rope when he wrote a threefold cord?
There are a number of Hebrew words used for cord. Strong’s definitions say the word chuwt, is used for the word cord here and gives this definition as: “from an unused root and a probably meaning to sew.” That does not make sense to me how about you? The Hebrew word abot; has a meaning of something intertwined for a purpose.
I have found three Spiritual Cords which are threefold in themselves. These threefold cords are intertwined so that they bind my walk with Jesus together into One Accord.
Webster’s New World Dictionary defines accord:
1. To make agree
2. To grant, to agree, harmonize, mutual agreement, harmony, of one’s owe accord, willing, with one accord, all agreeing
The first, the main threefold cord, the strength and the center cord in which the other two would have no existence and are twisted around: is God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. One God in three distinct persons always one, always agreeing, always in harmony, and always One Accord. He is the Great I AM. Jesus made many I AM statements In the book of John.
\ NKJ John 10: 29-30; “My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are ONE.”
NASU John 3:34; “For He whom God has sent speaks the words of God; for He gives the Spirit without measure.”
Jesus was totally empowered by the Holy Spirit, when he became man yet He never stopped being God. The God Head the Great Three in One became man! Impossible to explain and even more impossible to understand, that is why He is God and I am not.
NIV Isaiah 40: 13: “Who has understood the mind of the LORD,
Or instructed Him as His counselor?”

The second threefold cord is much easier to understand, each cord is very much needed, each cord I use to walk with Jesus. The cords are: 1. a good personal bible study, 2. good sound Bible teaching, 3. Fellowship I need to spend time talking to other men of God about a Godly life.
The Complete Christian Dictionary copyright; All Nations defines devotion as:
1. The act of committing oneself for some purpose or to some person
2. The condition of being devoted to someone or something
If I have devoted my life to Jesus,

1. I must study to overcome my fleshly desire to become complacent. When I discipline myself to studying I avoid this tendency and the word of God shapes my thinking. I am compelled to devote time to prayer, and prayer helps me to bind with the Lord. When I bind with the Lord then, then it turns into Praise and Thanksgiving.
Psalm 27:14 NKJ
Wait on the LORD;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart:
Wait, I say, on the LORD!
The word wait in Hebrew text is qavah, (kaw-vav) with a primitive root meaning: to bind together, and a figuratively meaning of to expect so if you are to expect you are to wait. But I am going to be who I am and just for fun do that thing I do:
Bind together with the LORD;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart:
Bind together, I say, with the LORD!
Old King James II Timothy: 2:15;
“Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.”

2. A good Bible teacher is one who: NKJ I Timothy 4: 6-11; “If you instruct the brethren in these things, you will be a good minister of Jesus Christ, nourishing in words of faith and of good doctrine which you have carefully followed. But reject profane and old wives’ fables, and exercise yourself toward godliness. For bodily exercise profit’s a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come. This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance. For to this end we both labor and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of those who believe. These things command and teach.”
A good Bible teacher is one who teaches the Bible from Genesis to Revelation chapter by chapter, verse by verse and sometimes word by word. A good Bible teacher wants you to study ahead and along with his teaching. A good Bible teacher wants you search the Bible for yourself and see if he has made a mistake or not. A good Bible teacher will admit his mistake and correct himself. A good Bible teacher will reason with his students and help them understand for he does not wish for them to be incomplete. A good Bible teacher is aware of the wolves that sneak in among the sheep; NKJ Matthew 7:15; “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves.”
So in my abridged form as Jesus spoke to Peter to restore him; Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.” and them, “Tend my sheep.” again Jesus said, “Feed my Sheep.” So when a teacher feeds and tends the sheep, they grow strong and the sheep produce not the shepherd. A good Bible teacher is one I call Pastor; I thank God for I have some very good Pastors.

The third and final cord of this threefold cord is good Godly fellowship: Hebrews 10:24-25; “And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as in the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much more as you see the Day approaching.”
That is what we are doing here on Saturday morning before and after we pray, the topics we talk about help us to be better Christ Followers. We talk about our weaknesses, our strugglers, our sicknesses and our sins. I want all to know, there is no sin so great that my Jesus will not forgive, no weakness you have he is not greater than, no illness He can not heal, no struggle He will not carry you through, and no prayer He will not answer.
We men are here because we are weak but He is strong. Yes Jesus Loves me!
One thing that we do not have is a bean spitting contest. No BS! We don’t talk about baseball, football, hunting, fishing, golf, or any of that stuff it is not because we do not like these things because we do. We assemble together for the day is fast approaching and we do not wish to be caught sleeping. Most of the guys here are blue collar workers and know how to sweat to make a living. We are just real men seeking Jesus, you do not have to believe me come and see for yourself.
The third and final threefold cord is prayer. Its cords are: 1. an individual prayer life, 2. the prayer life of men praying with men and women praying with women, in One Accord 3. and congregational prayer in One Accord.
1. An individual prayer life is a much needed and a necessary part of any believers walk with Christ. If that is all you have you are not complete. I have noticed that if an individual prayer life is all I have my prayers become self centered and I give up too soon before an answer comes. I have also learned I rob myself and my brothers of the blessings of them praying for me and myself of praying for them. Do not get me wrong I spend a lot of time in prayer by myself for I love to spend time alone with my Father. Prayer time alone with Jesus is my favorite prayer time and the one I love the most.

2.The importance of Praying in One Accord, (unity) cannot be overstated as a big contributing factor in seeing answers to our prayers. There is power in unity because God strengthens our faith as He joins our hearts in One Accord; this strengthens the individual’s personal walk with Christ. Men praying together enrich their lives by connecting you to them in a deep and meaning-full way. Men help men grow and move into the plans and purposes God has for them and the Church. A man gains strength, encouragement, and faith each time he hears other men pray for him. Prayer in agreement opens up a wonderful flow of God’s blessings into our lives as we share our souls. In God’s Kingdom of the last will be first and first last, the man praying for the other is often blessed more than the one being prayed for. Matthew 5:7;
“Blessed are the merciful,’
“For they shall obtain mercy”
The time I spend Praying in One Accord with other men is my favorite time in prayer. I love to spend time praying with my brothers in Christ Jesus most of all.

3. Congregational Prayer is a lot like men praying in One Accord only this time the women have entered the room. In this prayer we are not and should not be as intimate as we are in men’s prayer. There are many ways and styles that a congregation can use to pray in harmony. The Pastor knows the needs of his flock and can lead them best in this prayer.
New believers learn to pray by listening to and praying with the old saints. Old saints need to pray often with the new babies, to help them learn how to walk, and this helps the old saints remember he is just a sinner. Old saints drop the colorful stylistically expressions of words, do not recite churchie phrases we use to impress one another, and forget that finely tuned delicately molded moldy prayer. It does not impress God and I am to A.D.D. to be impressed. Ask the Holy Spirit for words to speak. Let your heart be broken and eyes fill with tears is always a good way to start prayer. When the whole Church is praying as one all agreeing this is my favorite way to pray, it is also the one I love the most.
Warning: Prayer is much to intimate for men and women to share their hearts at a gut wrenching nakedness except in marriage.
Warning: I have learned this one thing; I cannot have an intimate walk with Jesus without all the cords and all the Threefold cords also being inter-twined in One Accord. An intimate walk with Jesus is a very needed and wonderful part of life, if that is all you have and it is not dependent on other believers, you cannot and will not have a growing Christian Life. I have tried and failed. Too easily the fire goes out and you die.
Think about it!
“ Again, if two lie down together,
They will keep warm;
But how can one be warm
Alone?”

Single Post Navigation

49 thoughts on “A Threefold Cord

  1. Thank you for the like on my site. In looking over your site, I came across this post from almost a year ago. I have heard one more application of the threefold cord, and believe it worth passing on: a marriage in which Christ is intertwined with the lives of the husband and wife is far stronger than a marriage where He is absent. My wife and I will celebrate our 43rd anniversary this summer; there is no way we could have made it this far on our own.

    • Bob, Let first say congratulations on your marriage and give praise to our Lord Jesus for the grace He has poured out on you and your wife the past 43 years. Yes I could not agree more with you on the threefold cord of marriage with Christ being the center cord. Thank-you coming by and commenting for you have left wisdom and love behind. Now may our Lord Jesus you center cord bind your hearts even closer to His all the days of your life, Amen.

  2. Jose on said:

    But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

  3. thanks for stopping by, great site you have, God Bless

  4. Your admonishments are inspired, dear brother in Christ. Remain vigilant and continue to run with gusto. Watching you, a man will eventually say to himself, “Either I must begin this race, too, or I must stand before witnesses and say that I choose to remain forever in the company of the idle and and the sated.” Seeing your care and concern, he will surely abandon his wicked ways, grasp your outstretched hand and run with you in the way of the saints. I pray for your perseverance in all truth and in your labor in the vineyard.

    • Oh Dear One your words are so kind and warm, my eyes swell with tears. Your words are so encouraging I know no matter what I must stay in the race till I have reached the finish. Only of lately have I begun to feel the fatigue, knowing I have far fewer days ahead of than I have behind me in this world. Yet instead of slowing, I shall press on at an increased pace for the prize. Grace be with you, Amen.

  5. My brother! what a beautiful post… this is a sermon in itself and nothing but the truth. I see what I’ve been missing as I have not posted or have been reading as I was during my unemployment ( or should I say the time of rest God gave me). Keep on writing and teaching and inspiring! God bless… we need to get together soon….

    • Dwayne, Too kind, I never intended for this to be a sermon it was just something I have witnessed in my own life. I have broken this up sometimes into three different lessons for new prayer groups and new christians. Yes we need to get together soon! God Bless.

  6. Thanks for the encouragement that I am in the right alignment with Father! I thank you my brother and my friend. I pray blessing over your life tonight. May God bless you richly.

    • Sandy, I think I just might be able to do something with that new word 3ncouragement! I bet you could too! Oh are we suppose to bet or not???? May our Lord bless you with peace, Amen.

      • Yes, I know I say that all the time to.. And I follow it by the same question. I guess clean bets are ok. I do like my new word though! Jim have a great night. May God continue to raise you up. Thank you for your prayers. Blessings my brother and my friend.

  7. Jim, I went to a bridal shower today and I actually thought of this.. would it be ok if I copied this to give them as a wedding gift???

    • Sandy, Please do, prayer is also a threefold cord in a marriage. What better way to become one in Spirit, Body, and Christ?

      • thank you my brother! Be blessed in the coming week. May you walk in His blessing and love and may you thwart the enemy and his darts. May Holy Spirit cause you improbable provisions in areas of your life that need filling. Blessings to you!

  8. Thanks visit my blog. I keep the cartoons clean and wholesome and many people of faith follow. Easter blessings for you and loved ones.

  9. I leave a comment each time I especially enjoy a post on a website or if
    I have something to add to the discussion. Usually it’s caused by the sincerness displayed in the
    post I read. And on this post A Threefold Cord | Men of One Accord.
    I was actually excited enough to drop a commenta response
    😉 I actually do have some questions for you if you
    don’t mind. 😛 And,
    if you are posting at additional social sites, I’d like
    to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you make
    a list every one of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • Thank-you for coming by Men of One Accord you welcome here and my pray is you are bless by what you have found here. You may have noticed I removed part of your comment about others you have made comments on this blog. Please no name calling of my visitors on this blog? If you must call someone a name feel free to call me whatever you please. I do not write on other social sites, but I have written a children’s book you might enjoy, “Donkey Tells A Promise Kept” on Xulon Press.Here is a bookstore link:
      [Bookstore Link]
      or go to Amazon.com

  10. Very good post enjoyed it. I love how you dug into the word itself and found the original word meanings. Yep I agree Strong’s definitions are not as deep as I like, yet that just shows how much more you have dug into the Word. I use two or three other sources for my word studies one is Gesinius Lexicon of Old Testament Hebrew and Aramaic and in the New I use Vine’s Expository Dict. Which are wonderful sources. Also I may suggest instead of Webster’s Dict. try The American Heritage Dictionary I love it because mainly the definitions I find in it have a better spiritual application. Thanks for the Post again!

    • Joe, Thank-you Thank-you! I have all of the reference books you speak of I even have one of those over-sized Dictionary that set on a stand from 1941. I do not remember at the time I wrote this post but I think what I used help make the point I was trying to teach. Thank-you again for pass on your wisdom along with love and encouragement, God Bless and come around anytime please! 🙂

  11. This is an excellent post on prayer. My husband and I started praying together daily only one year ago. Even though it is only a short time of prayer in the morning and sometimes in the evening, we would not want to miss it. Our marriage and each of our relationships with God are being strengthened.
    Our church has a women’s prayer meeting which has become a valuable time for those who attend regularly. We learn a lot through these times of prayer and are refreshed and encouraged.

    • Isaiah 41:10, I will agree prayer in marriage is a threefold cord, many years ago on my wedding day the pastor pulled me aside and gave me this instruction: “Tonight before anything you and your bride must stop and invite the Holy Spirit into your wedding bed.” O my that may have been the best instruction I have ever received. Yes there is also great power and blessing in men praying with men and women praying with women. Thank-you for the great comment! May the love of Jesus fill your wedding bed and His peace over fill your marriage, Amen.

  12. charlie on said:

    Thanks for liking my blog post, “Out Of Hopelessness – And Into Praise!” In 2015, may God bless you and make your words a blessing to many.

  13. Pingback: Homepage

  14. One accord. Speak the same things, Paul said. Expel the heretic from the church, Paul said. By their fruits ye shall know them.

    If they speak not according to this word, there is no light in them. Copyright requires 10-20% difference, so like one modern version editor said out loud, when the KJB uses the best word, they have to pick another one. Not to mention tweaking the special places, translating based on the Gnostic-corrupted Alexandrian versions.

    Beware of counterfeit Bible versions. They’re like fool’s gold in important places.

  15. Discipline is difficult, but necessary, in my life stroke recovery is a daily discipline lest I loose the little I have left.The same does apply to attending to Scripture and prayer, you can loose what little you have without it!

    • That word discipline is not a word I much of these days when it comes to a life in Christ. Oh I have written a post and did a lesson for a men’s prayer group once called “prayer is a Discipline” I think both were not received to well. Blessings my brother!

  16. nvsubbaraman on said:

    Great thought! Right thought! God will be ever with us in our fall and rise!Let us not, therefore, worry. We shall go about with earnestness and honesty, love and compassion.

  17. Planting Potatoes on said:

    and thus the reason for such a great blog title at yours! sorry I missed this post the first time – good read!

    • This post is my most read post of all times on my blog. Most of the hits come from Google, if you Google threefold cord it is the first site listed by Google. This post came from a message I was ask to give in a church one time when I was ask to speak on “What Prayer Means to Me”. I started the message with a prayer, “Lord it is time for James to disappear. Take my vocice and lips and tongue and speak the words You want these people to hear.” I did not use my notes and this is something like what came out. Love you Bro, and God Bless!

      • Planting Potatoes on said:

        that is usually when we are tools for God and his good works – when we let him use us in the way that he used you!

  18. Thanks so much for such a detailed and through explanation of one of my favorite verses. I have always used this verse as a way of showing how important a relationship with Jesus is to a marriage. Thank you for following my blog. God bless. Al

    • Brother Al, You are so right as to show these verses in a relationship with Jesus is to a marriage. For we are the Bride of Christ and He is the Bride Groom! In prayer and in praying in One Accord we are courting one another to and for that day when the Father says go get Your Bride. Yes again in our earthly marriage of man and woman we are to invite God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit into our marriage bed and God, the woman, and the man become one, Amen.
      Blessings Al and thank-you too for following this blog! 🙂

  19. You know, there is something else about the “sewing” thing we might consider: Cords are pretty worthless without a larger context. A cord (or a thread for sewing) has a purpose beyond just existing. A cord is meant to be woven into something, to hold something together, or to bind something. It can be singularly used for pulling, or rescue, also.

    Overall, what I would like to add is that our threefold strength is even more valuable if we consider that it is through this we help hold the structure – the tent, the garment, the fabric of society – together. What do you think?

    • Anthony, You got the message Just as the Father and Son are one and you and I are one in the Son and in the Father so you and I should be one. Thus we are of One Accord in the Body woven together for a purpose to bring Glory to God, God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit The Three in One the Great I AM. Great comment and Blessings and Peace be with you, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

Agape: Lifestyle Blog

I may be a mess, but I'm a beautiful mess because of Jesus

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand!

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

