Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

When We Cry Out

When We Cry Out
NKJV Mark 4:35-41
On the same day, when evening had come, He said to them, “Let us cross over to the other side.” Now when they had left the multitude, they took Him along in the boat as He was. And other little boats were also with Him. And a great windstorm arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that it was already filling. But He was in the stern, asleep on a pillow. And they awoke Him and said to Him, “Teacher, do You not care that we are perishing?” Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm. But He said to them, “Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?” And they feared exceedingly, and said to one another, “Who can this be, that even the wind and the sea obey Him!”
I know there has been many sermons on this passage of Scripture, but this is not going to be one of them. Let me take you back to some twenty-three years to a time in my life when I first began my relationship with Jesus. I had wrecked my life to the point I could no longer go home to my now ex-wife and children and was going to soon to be divorced. My sin had been forgiven but the consequences of my sin still had a price to be paid. I should have been homeless and alone, but God found me a room with a single bed. In my mind, I still believed I had a relationship with my children but the courts had placed a restraining order to keep me from contacting them. I was only maybe a few hours old in Christ and there was a storm raging in my life. I was a mess I had not slept in days and my mind was in turmoil with anger, fear, and a sea of depression was tearing at my soul. I knelt beside that little bed and began to cry out to the Lord. I cried out maybe much like the disciples did that dark stormy night. I was in the mist of a tempest and my boat was about to sink and I was sure I was going to die, so I cried out to Jesus. I told Him everything my sins my fears and about how alone I was. In a short time Jesus, the Holy Spirit, came into the room and wrapped His arms around me. I heard Him say to my heart and soul “Peace be Still.” Like the wind, my soul and heart obeyed and I fell asleep there on that floor in His arms. The storm still raged on in my life for some time, but in my heart and soul His Peace remained as He spoke Peace be Still.
A few days ago, a friend of mine met me where I go to pray each morning before we start work, which is not unusual of him. This morning he greeted me with the news that his mother had a heart attack, was in the hospital, was going to have test, and may need surgery for what we did not know at this time. He prayed first and I do not remember what he said in his prayer but I could see he was in a storm. Then I prayed I do not remember what I asked of the Lord but at some point, my prayer went like this: Jesus we are in a storm and we are crying out to You. We are not sure what Your plan is but in this pain, we know that good things will happen. If it is Your will that his mother be healed in that You shall be glorified my Father. We also know that if she is called home much good can come of this too. I have seen families brought back together, and old family scars healed. Out of loss much healing has come. Father we know that even though we are in this storm we will reach the other side. Please my dear Father speak into my brother’s heart the words you speak to me, Peace be Still. Even if the wind keeps blowing and waves crash over the side of our ship hear us as we cry out to You and speak the words Peace be Still and like the wind did so many years before are souls and hearts shall obey. Amen
After a second or two of quite with heads bowed He said your prayer was prefect and I could see Jesus had spoken to him Peace be Still.
In the storms of our life if we just cry out to Jesus he still speaks the words Peace be Still.

 
Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “When We Cry Out

  1. I’s curious how many times we can read or hear a passage and yet something fresh and unexpected pops out. This time it’s the “cross over to the other side,” in the sense of leaving a place where we’re comfortable or at least somehow settled. Whether it’s to return to a place we’ve fled or leap to new opportunities or to reach out to those we believe to be in error or acting in the wrong, this can be terrifying.
    As you observe, the storm can arise seemingly out of nowhere, and there we are.
    Thanks for the reminder that we (and our companions) are not alone.

  2. hey man! on said:

    By our own nature,(the way we were created) when storms arise in our lives we want to go directly to “flight” or “fear” if you will. And some of you can probably relate to this as being the way we were trained as kids , fight or “fright”. Once we know God however we are introduced to faith. Faith gives us the power to accept that our God is in control of our lives, not us. And that he will indeed do what is BEST for us and we should realize that we are tested daily, sometimes in big ways such as illness or loss. Sometimes in more subtle ways ,maybe a rude customer, or a seemingly impossible boss. It is the way that we handle these tests that God is looking for. Myself , well I fail more tests than I pass , but we should be aware that we will be constantly tested and that we should keep our faith firmly grounded in Jesus (and our heads firmly planted in the bible) and that no matter the apparent loss, rain lilly’s always look their prettiest right after a storm the night before. FAITH is so important to our prayer life! Without the one we are simply wasting the other. And we miss the peace that comes with the combination of both. I must beg you to find someone to pray with! Alone we simply are not as strong as when we have a brother to share our burdens! (you may find yourself wanting to hug him today, and choke him tmaro. But thats what brothers do). We must pray, and believe. In simple southern language, PRAYER WORKS , PRAYER IS POWER! Prayer is our connection to our maker. And our maker calms the storm. My prayer is that you all will see the abundant gifts that god gives us every day. And that we learn to use them at every day.

  3. “Peace, be still!” I am all too human, and I cannot perfectly claim any scripture to be more favorite than the other, but I can say with certainty that these words are exceedingly powerful to me and they have been an anchor all my life.

  4. James, thank you for sharing this with me on my blog. It is a very moving and powerful post and so true! Jesus will give us peace right in the middle of the storm no matter how hard it is raging. I have felt this myself many times. What a blessing you were to your friend to share prayer with him in the middle of his storm by helping him to find the peace that only the love of Jesus can bring.

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand! (2 Corinthians 1:12)

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

