Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

IF

If I was starving would you feed me?

If I was naked would you cloth me?

If I needed help would you help me?

If I was lonely would you be by side?

If I asked you to pray with me would you?

If I was depressed would you comfort me?

If I was to fall would you help me up?

If I was beaten would you doctor my wounds?

If you answered no to any of these questions just remember whose answer is always yes!

We are not perfect, but shouldn’t we all at least give it our best shot at meeting our neighbors needs not just our own?

Just another man from Men of One Accord writing from his heart.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “IF

  1. I love this! This expresses a lot of what goes on within me at times. And on the flip side, especially after some of the experiences I have had, I am trying to be aware of those needs of others around me. Lovely poem! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Christine on said:

    These are terrific thoughts, but I’d add some qualifiers:
    If only life were this simple!
    If only everyone who asked for food and clothing were honest.
    If everyone who asked for help would want to help themselves and just need a helping hand for now–instead of really wanting a lifetime of handouts and someone to blame for all their problems.

    (I’m a cynic. My mother asked my bro-in-law for grocery money one day; she had nothing in the house to eat–which was probably true. He gave her $10 and she bought a case of beer. Better to give some folks the groceries. A lot of kids’ new clothing donated by kind souls is exchanged for booze, too.)

    If everyone who asks for prayer were really committed to God’s answers and not trying to bend Him to their own wishes. James writes that “ye ask and ye receive not because ye ask amiss…” Pray with them for total submission to God’s will.

    The scribes & pharisees asked for a sign to prove Jesus’ authority.
    Someone asked Jesus to make his brother share the inheritance with him.
    Martha asked Jesus to make Mary get up and help serve the meal.
    Jesus didn’t always say Yes.

    If we do what we can in obedience as the Holy Spirit directs us, we’ll never be sorry even if someone does take advantage — we’ll rather be blessed. If we try to fill everyone’s requests, we’ll run ourselves ragged. Or am I being too negative?

    • Christine, James here from Men of One Accord, let me help you understand the poem “IF” by putting it into context. I hope you have read the post “Testimony” for it was written by the same man His name is Daniel.
      Daniel was first saved in the church, but the church failed to preform task it was called to do.
      He was hungry for the word of God but nobody would feed him.
      He was spiritually naked and nobody would cloth him.
      He wanted to know how to walk and no one would teach him.
      When he would fall no one would pick him up.
      He was a new baby in Christ that the church left alone beside the road of life to die.
      No one of the church had the time to befriend him no one of the church had the time to love him.
      The church was cynical and put qualifiers on John; 15:12, “This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.”
      Do you know the Qualifiers Jesus Christ puts on us to be known as His disciples?
      John; 13:35 “By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”

  3. Christine you managed to “qualify” us all to totally ignore the entire gist of the words of Jesus here. Jesus definitely said NO at times, if it was for the best interests of the person and the Kingdom of God. On that part I think you are right on. I worry though when we are afraid to help the homeless because “maybe they do not deserve it.” I think that is the very attitude that Christ was fighting then and now within His people.

    One thing a person can do is give McDonald’s food coupons instead of cash. Everyone needs to eat after all. Another idea is to give to organizations or shelters that help the poor, who usually have a screening process, and not just hand out to every person on every corner. But we do have to be careful not to become jaded and it happens far too easily I fear.

    And I am saying those words to myself too, believe me. God bless.

  4. Christine on said:

    Thanks for your answers, fellows. As I read the ‘Context’ the whole thing makes a lot more sense. It is a shame if we as Christians can’t find time to help those who are right in our midst. And we’ll tremble to answer God on Judgement Day for convictions He sent that we didn’t follow through on.

    I know there are a lot of angles to helping the needy and I don’t want to encourage disobedience to God’s prompts. I realize we have a tendency to tar everyone with the same brush, i.e., “All indigents are lazy, “all beggars just don’t want to work.” and non Christians have a tendency to tar all Christians with “they’re ALL self-righteous hypocrites.”

    The Holy Spirit takes away our brush –and our excuses. He helps us to see real people, real needs. When to help and when not to. We no longer have to weigh someone’s sad tale and what we see –with input from our own social conscience– and try to decide what to do.

    I was brought up with a typical North American social conscience that we MUST get out there and save the lost, help the poor, etc. I’ve seen Christians almost burn out trying to rescue the perishing. One day I was musing on this when God told me, “You don’t need to have a “social conscience”, you just need to be obedient to my Spirit. I’ve made it so simple for you.”

    That’s where I was coming from with my comment.

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

Agape: Lifestyle Blog

I may be a mess, but I'm a beautiful mess because of Jesus

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand!

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

