Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Fear’s Face

I have looked in the face of fear 

many times.

I look at fear’s face

each day.

I have the freewill on how 

to gaze into

fear’s eyes.

Will I choose to runaway to 

another place? 

Hoping not to glimpse 

fear’s scowl!

Might I choose to shrink, back away,

 then vanish?

Desiring an escape of

fear’s leer!

Could I be a silhouette

inside myself?

Cowardly snaking from

 fear’s thunder! 

I have looked in the face of fear 

many times.

I look at fear’s face

each day.

I have the freewill on how 

to gaze into

fear’s eyes.

I choose to fall on my knees

to pray.

As the rising Son melts away

fear’s foundation.

I pick-up my cross and follow the Son

with the Spirit’s 

mighty embrace!

Watching the crumbling of

fear’s stronghold!

I cry out Mighty Mighty is He 

the Lamb of God 

the Lion of Judea 

Who Was and Who Is and

Who Is Forever More! 

Yeshua Messiah!

Humble and meek I choose 

to rejoice as Abba Father whisks away

fear’s dust.

Then replacing stone upon stone building towers

called Faith.

I look at Yeshua’s face

each day.

I have the freewill on how 

to gaze into

Yeshua’s eyes.

I choose to pray at His feet 

where I find

Towers called Faith.

AMEN.

Single Post Navigation

29 thoughts on “Fear’s Face

  1. Amen. The greatness of God melts away all our fears and worries! :))

  2. Faith TOWERS – Mighty and Awesome
    God Bless

    • Susie, Would you believe this poem started out as a prayer looking into the face of fear as I was writing to another believer about something I am facing? In this email I only wrote the first four lines and then signed off saying I have a poem to write. My poems and prayers are most often the one in the same. I write my prayers because my verbal skills are so poor. Like the quotes I have these poems/prayers are on notes, pads of paper and post-its all about my room. Can you imagine that?
      Yes our God is Mighty and Awesome! God Bless you too!

  3. I used to suffer from social anxiety and I also about 2 1/2 years ago started having some vision problems. Since Jesus entered my life (3 1/2 yrs ago) I have overcame a lot of my fears by giving them up to him. I lead bible studies and have spoke in church for kids of Compassion international. I am not sure I will ever be comfortable in public speaking areas or in the front of a class room but I do now have confidence God has it all under control and he equips me to do what he needs done taking away the fear for the moment. As far as my vision problems when the panic overcomes me I usually find myself on my knees squeezing my eyes closed as I pray to find when I finish praying I have peace. I have also found that I am pretty much at peace about my vision problems most of the time now.

  4. and btw GREAT poem!

    • T, You have blessed this blog of Men of One Accord with your testimony of Faith in the Power of our Messiah. Grace be with you a sister who loves our Lord Jesus Christ in sincerity. Amen.

  5. Beautiful poem, James. Just beautiful. I particularly like the verses “I pick up my cross and follow the Son with the Spirit’s mighty embrace!” How true–the Holy Spirit enfolds us, filling us with the power it takes to follow His Son’s example. A most meaningful poem all the way through.
    Betsy

  6. Hi! I nominated you for The Loyal Reader and Wonderful Team Membership Awards. Please get the badges at http://wp.me/p32YrK-pv and get more info. Enjoy and have a great day!

  7. This is so, so good, James. Thank you for sharing. I’m hearing you!! Diane

  8. Thank you James and yes as you shared when we are in Christ Jesus our flesh has been put to death by the empowering of The Holy Spirit and we are perfected in Love so we no longer fear as those in the world do because they are without Hope, they may wear a mask but they live in fear in their heart but trying many ways of covering it up, some which are very destructive, how do I know because before I really knew Jesus as I do ,I was one of them.

    1John 4:16-19 And we have known and believed the Love that God hath to us. God is Love; and he that dwelleth in Love dwelleth in God, and God in him. Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    Christian Love from us both – Anne.

    • Anne, I find your comments such a joy they are like a commentary on what I have written explaining my words. Thank-you! For some reason I very seldom have that ability to write in the style of a commentator explaining clearly the treasure I found in God’s word and I have lived out. When I do write it often comes out in this prayer/poem style that our Lord has given to me. I praise God for the gift our Lord has given to me and love sharing it with the world. I also give our Lord praise for the Beautiful Gift He has given to you, For the words you use are fill with the love of Christ, Amen.
      The scripture that was echoing in my heart was from Hebrews 11:17-22. when I was writing this poem, thought you would like to know.
      Grace be with you both, Amen.

  9. Thank you James for your kind words, I hope it is ok to share with you about your Hebrews Scripture, my response has a lot of detail so it will be very long, please forgive the spelling , grammar and punctuation mistakes as I’m Dyslectic, yes I’m a cracked vessel but thankfully God is the Super glue.

    I believe the first part of your poem James, is expressing the fear that many feel towards God and I too lived with this fear even as a Christian, I had been taught to fear Him even if it was sugar coated that it was for my good that He afflicted me but as a Christian I do not need to fear Him. The word in Hebrew for you, me and all Believers is respect because when fear is used in reference to Believers that is what it means. God tells us He knows those who are His and He also tells us …..

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    The rest that I will now share James is in response to the ending of your poem and Hebrew 11 that God gave you. In the Scripture below He tells us that He does not hurt Mankind but if you read this Scripture in context it seems to say that He does causes men to suffer… there are no real contradictions in Scripture so why does this seem to contradict , it doesn’t, God is saying that we will reap what we sow, this is life, He created us this way but for good, so we would feel blessed by the good we do, it is not His will anyone suffers but when we choose to sin we do suffer because it is in opposition to the way He created us, everything He created was good, as an example, the danger of holding onto anger is it turns into bitterness and resentment and this eats us away like cancer.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    When Adam and Eve sinned they separated themselves from God and started to die spiritually , this is what sin does and if Jesus had not come and redeemed us, it would have been eternal separation for all of us, but we are saved from this by God’s Grace and our sins are forgiven, we are not punished for them eternally but all sin has consequences and Satan gets a foothold in our lives if we continue to sin.

    Psalm 97:9-11 For thou, Lord, art high above all the earth: thou art exalted far above all gods. Ye that Love the Lord, hate evil: He preserveth the souls of His Saints; He delivereth them out of the hand of the wicked. Light is sown for the righteous, and gladness for the upright in heart.

    Jesus said in this life we would have trouble, this is because Satan won the right to control this earth at the fall and also the right to put us to the test like He did Jesus, Abraham, Job, Peter, Paul and all Christians through the ages, and yes you and me too James but he can’t hurt us eternally, God’s protects our souls and as you can see below we never go through anything alone and once tested Satan no longer has a legal right to us.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Abraham trusted in God’s goodness regardless of what He asked him to do , yes he had sinned by doing what the Pagans did, so Satan had a legal right to destroy him, but his Faith was strong in his God of Love, who forgives and restores, so he knew that whatever God asked of Him, He would be faithful to bring good from it and he was proved right, a sacrifice was provided in place of his son, just like Jesus was for us, which was God’s intention all along, we remember God knows the beginning to the end, He knows all our hearts and He knew what Abrahams response would be, and that He would strengthen him in it, the battle is God’s not ours, we choose and He gives us the victory.

    What a wonderful example we now have in Abraham, we are The Children of the Promise, in Christ Jesus we are Spiritual Jews, not of the flesh but the heart and we have the same strength in Jesus that Abraham had, we will have the victory regardless of how Satan tries to cause us to reject our Lord and Saviour, the unforgivable sin, how can we be saved if we reject who saves us .

    1 Peter 4:12-13 Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you: But rejoice, in as much as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when His glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy

    When we have been put to the test and tried we will be lifted up and the devil will flee, he can’t be in Unity with Goodness, our Holiness causes him great fear, this is why we put our flesh to death so we won’t fall into sin again and in Christ Jesus we will be Holy and no Temptation will be greater then we can bear when we seek Jesus, He is our Armour and He has experienced all our temptations and understands.

    1Peter 1:6-7 Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations: That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:

    James 1:12-14 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love Him. Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed.

    Hebrews 4:15-16 For we have not an High Priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.

    1 Peter 5:10 But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.

    Daniel 12:10 Many shall be purified, and made white, and tried; but the wicked shall do wickedly: and none of the wicked shall understand; but the wise shall understand.

    Hebrews 4:15-16 For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.

    There of course is so much more James that I could share with you but perhaps this is sufficient for now , I think to sum it up , when we know God in our heart is Total Love, there is no more fear.

    Christian Love from us both – Anne

    • Anne, Please forgive for taking so long to get back to you. You have nothing to worry about with me on grammar and spelling I would never know it. I too am Dyslexic! On top of that I am A.D.D. and/or A.D.H.D. So I am backwards, with no attention span, and old. A perfect vessel in God’s eyes to work with. LOL 🙂 So you too are a prefect vessel for God to use, Amen. Now I forgot what I was going to say about your reply! You have a great reply yet the other part I was thinking must be gone somewhere forever….
      Blessings and Grace to in Christ Jesus, Amen.

  10. what a beautiful poem!

    Fear is one of the weapons the enemy uses so effectively against us and I am finding the only place I can battle that weapon is on my knees . . .

    thank you for so eloquently putting His Truth into words.

  11. When the body of Christ comes to realize just how powerful prayer is then we will pray without ceasing. But far to often we as saints don’t pray enough and when we do we only do when we are in trouble.

    • Desiray, I could not agree with you more prayer is one of those Keys of the Kingdom of Heaven. In Matthew 16:19; Jesus is speaking and says: “And I shall give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loose in heaven.” Warning: be careful of the context here of this verse.
      I wrote a commentary on this passage of Scripture, Matthew 16:5-20, am not sure if I have ever posted it. The just of it was the keys where OF the kingdom and not To the kingdom. Now to my point in my understanding prayer is one of those keys OF the Kingdom OF Heaven. There is a difference between OF and TO when talking about something. Better stop before I dig a big hole for myself!
      May you be fill to overflowing as you pray so that power of the love of Christ flows into and out of you like a river of life unto all in your path, bring Glory to our Messiah. Now the Grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you, Amen.

  12. embraceyourpurpose on said:

    As we understand and accept God’ promise that he never leaves us, then we can stand confidently in the face of fear – not in ourselves, but in God. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand! (2 Corinthians 1:12)

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

