Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Last Request!

May I pass down to you

a little of

my life’s knowledge?

Now these days

 young people hardly muse

the words of old men.

Time has marched on

sunsets of my past

far exceed

my sunrises I’ve yet to see.

Entering the final turn

knowing the finish line

 the home stretch lies ahead.

I sprint now to

empty myself of all mercy

that has been poured into me.

Leaving no prayer unsaid

no un-repentant sin

no hurt un-forgiven

blessing all who 

around me I see.

Reaching out in love

to those who hate me

laying hands on the sick

instructing the children

encouraging the young

picking up the fallen

I will sprint on.

Exhaling all self

denying the flesh

exhausting the body

no time to rest

yes I sprint on.

 When I cross the finish line

to look upon my race 

regrets I will not see

I will not wish 

I had prayed more

 read the Bible more 

given more

loved more

for I will have

used even my last breath

for my Lord.

Amen.

My Dad and I have always been very close and after I gave my life to Jesus we became even closer. Four years ago in August my Dad went to spend all eternity at our Abba Father’s throne. I was asked to write his eulogy this was what I came up with. My mother disliked it so much,  pitched a fit, and it was never read.  If you knew my Dad, one would say yes that was he. 

Single Post Navigation

32 thoughts on “Last Request!

  1. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. My parents are 91 and 92 years old, and searching for their legacy. Your father found his. I cried from the sweetness. Blessings. Diane

  2. That is the most beautiful eulogy I have ever read. I pray more will come to desire spiritual. That is my prayer.

    God bless you!!!
    Trail Blazer

  3. What a shame that your mom could not see this as an appropriate eulogy for your father. Even if I did not know your father personally, I am inclined to think that yes this might be somehow what he inspired to be or say. I pray that you will be able to share this eulogy more often. My father died 34 years ago last week and I wish I had thought of my dads life in such a way. instead of being a very angry person that I was at the time. May God continue to redeem our lives in such. I actually thought that what you wrote sounded very much like something of a new version of Scripture. It made me weep, and it made me laugh. I pray that you will continue to share this as you move on. May your family also begin to see this as awesome and not even think it is unfitting a tribute. Blessings to you my brother. 🙂 Sandy

    • My Mother is what one might say a bit on the legalist side of things and does not see my style of writing as a proper way to show respect. I think she was hoping for a more traditional eulogy from me, which I did not have in me. Knowing she also was in pain I stepped aside and remained still. Out of which came a big lesson in forgiveness and grace for me. I hold no anger or regrets for I still have away to honor and share my words of Dad today in away that does not dishonor my mother. Mom is Mom writing should be done in a set way and I understand her view and I am me and our Abba only knows who that is. 🙂 Anyway thank-you and God Bless.

  4. This is very beautiful, thank you for sharing it. How wonderful that your Father left such a legacy to have something so wonderful as this written about him. I would like to be the type of person to one day have someone write this sort of thing for me when my life here is over and I head on to Heaven. This was also a great reminder…do I pray enough, read my Bible enough, love enough? I loved this 🙂

    • T, The words I have written are just some of the very same words my Dad spoke to me just retold in my style. Dad spoke with more humor, he spoke with more gentleness, and he spoke with more authority his name was James. Dad never ask of me to live up to what he was only to live for what I was called. This is a great day remembering Dad thank-you for coming alone with me. God Bless you.

  5. What a wonderful tribute and how good and right that you should see your dad join the Lord after having ‘spent’ his life to completion!

  6. Like Father, like son and so like our Father 🙂

  7. Yes and our Father is both of those!

  8. I went back and reread and reread and reread. Beautiful James!

  9. There is a season for everything and this beautiful poem now has its season
    Thank you for sharing it
    God and your earthly Dad know your Heart and knew what those words meant
    god bless

  10. This is absolutely beautiful! I am so saddened you were not able to share it. Thank you for sharing it with us. 🙂

    • Toni, Please do not be sadden by these words not being used that day? For if they had been I may have never of wished to see them again, grief, and place them in a file never to be seen again. But Our Abba Father had a better use for them to wait for this day when I was missing my Dad to bring them out and rejoice in his going home. These words mean so much more today than they would have back then. Now I have a race I too am running and I want to be just like my Dad. These words are like his voice cheering me on from heaven yelling now is the time to sprint. Sprint son Sprint! I too have seen more sunsets now than I have sunrises ahead of me. Sprint I shall leaving no regrets!
      Toni, May our Lord Jesus Christ grant you Peace, Grace, Joy, and Fill you to Over Flowing with His Love leaving no regrets, Amen.

  11. Truly, what you have written is the hope in the heart of a saint. I do not know what is expected of a man who loses his father. My father is still in this world. I do know, however, that the poem is inspired by the One who puts into us the very hope that saves. I pray that your mother will receive the grace to see all of the good in this inspired labor of love. May she be detached from everything that would obscure her vision and with closed eyes find a quiet place inside her mind where she might hear the voices of angels and feel the soothing salve of mercy and forgiveness.

    • Your comment is so gracious and your prayer, thank-you. My mother and father grew up during the Great Depression when life was much harder than when I grew up. Writing had certain rules and so does poetry…. period…. Recently I have read through these rules that some publishers have for poems then I read some of David’s Psalms. I said to my self if David can break these rules than so Shall I. I want to write like David, I want to dance like David, I want to praise God like David…. period….
      Thank-you for your Love, Thank-you for your Kindness, Thank-you for your prayers. God Bless you, Amen.

  12. Thanks for sharing this picture of your dad with us. Your dad was beautiful and is an inspiration to me! Betsy

    • Betsy, Much of these words I used here are my Dad’s which came from the Bible spoken to me. Using his words I retold them using the style the Lord gave to me. Thank-you for your Love and kindness my sister in Christ! God Bless.

  13. awomansaved on said:

    As I read each line of this poem I inhaled the sweet aroma of your soul. And when I came to the end, I was left breathless! You broke open the precious bottle of nard.

    • Soft Petals, For more than a day I have been trying to think of a reply to your sweet blessing you left me with. All that comes to mind is my Poem, “Yahweh’s Poet”. For you are one of those of whom I wrote about in this poem. Blessed you shall be for I have asked it of our Abba. Amen

  14. awomansaved on said:

    Sweet Aroma, you, the Poet of Yahweh to this what do I say? He took captive your heart and penned those words of His heart! Blessed I am that you would pray for this leper. Upon you may blessing rain and never quiet may your mighty pen remain, Amen!

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

Agape: Lifestyle Blog

I may be a mess, but I'm a beautiful mess because of Jesus

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand!

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

