Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Another First!

I was invited tonight (June 11, 2014) to read “Donkey Tells, A Promise Kept” to a group of kids ages 10 to 12. Some of you out there who know me understand that me reading aloud is not a gift I have.  In fact I would rather have all my finger nails pulled off with pliers than read to anyone aloud. With dyslexia, my A.D.H.D. and my poor reading ability, it makes it so no one   can understand the story line at all. But God made it clear He wanted me to do this and I went as I was call.

My prayer was simple, “Lord it is time for James to disappear. Take my tongue my lips and my voice and take all of me and use my body for Your glory. Maybe let this guy called J Thomas who wrote the book do the reading. Abba, You know I do not have the ability to do this but You do. Amen

I was taken to this room where I was introduced to about twenty boys and girls about an equal number of each.  The leader then stepped back out of sight and I had no idea how to begin. I gather them all in close in a circle about me and we talked. We talked about fear and struggles they have, being dyslexic, and having A.D.D.  I then ask, “Has God ever ask you to do something so hard that you knew no way I can do that?” I told them all through the Bible, God was always asking people to something they could not do on their own ability. I ask do you think God still asks people today to do something they cannot do. I told them about Donkey Tells and how God told me to just write and ask them if they would like me to read some of it to them.

I was not the reader tonight this other person in my body showed up. He read with excitement he read with voices of the characters and all the kids were amazed all the way through first chapter. The kids asked for more the leader said go ahead read the next chapter. Half way through the second chapter one of the boys acted a little silly and it caught my attention and I stop reading. Another boy yelled at him asking, “Why did you do that for? He is A.D.D. they see everything and he may never find his place in the book again.” I smiled, found my place and finished the chapter.  I spent the next hour hanging out with them getting to know them and letting them know me.

I have been asked to come back and finish reading the book to them I will be with them the next three weeks. As some of you know Donkey Tells is the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the Good News. Near the end of the book it even gives one the opportunity to be saved.

Please my brothers and sisters in Christ Jesus if there is only one child in this group who does not know Jesus pray that the Holy Spirit woos them to be saved. Pray that all the children’s lives grow in the love of Jesus, pray that J Thomas is filled with the Holy Spirit for the Glory of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Thank-you and God Bless, Amen.

Single Post Navigation

35 thoughts on “Another First!

  1. You asked and you received .. The children might not know the Holy Spirit was working but you do. .. My prayers will be for those kids .. God Bless

  2. Praise God! He is working through you and your handicaps so that is a wonderful thing. He has the ability to use all of us as long as we are willing vessels…

  3. So happy for you, James, that this is working out for you. Our wonderful Lord gave you a blessing and made you a blessing all in one shot!

  4. awomansaved on said:

    Prayers have been prayed for you and those children. Well done good and faithful servant! 🙂

  5. I just loved reading this! God is so amazing isnt he? Thank you so much for sharing because this is so very encouraging. wWe can do anything he asks us to do if we just let him. What a blessing!

  6. Bravo Brother for your courageous faith! The first of many surprises to rain on you.

  7. Planting Potatoes on said:

    praise God James! He is leading you where perhaps you might not go on your own right? You are such a blessing to these kids! I stand in fervent prayer agreement with you that God’s spirit would be present each time you read and that every heart that hears the story will be touched and lives will be saved! don’t fear this uncharted territory…God is leading you – remember…..Noah wasn’t a professional boat builder, and David was not a professional soldier when he killed Goliath!

    • Mark, Again you show up with a hug, smile, encouragement, and a prayer! Thank-you Captain you know I am just a grunt I have taken the beach are you ready to move inland, Sir? God Bless!

      • Planting Potatoes on said:

        nah…that’s for the young guys….I will just stay in the rear and guard the tents…. 😉 Anyway, the way you stormed the beach…not much left to have to do! 🙂

      • No dis respect Sir, but the only thing to be left behind on the beach is the dead. 🙂 So saddle up get on your knees we are moving inland. Let the army guard the tents, Sir! 🙂
        Bring back any memories? Semper Fi!

      • Planting Potatoes on said:

        oh so many indeed! 🙂 but it didn’t take much of boot camp for this young pup to learn that I would rather be like radar than john wayne! 🙂

      • LOL!!!!! I am no John Wayne I am just a grunt who’s heart is set on getting the job done!:)

      • Planting Potatoes on said:

        and just like living the life of Christ, life as a grunt could get a little ugly as you got the job done right? 🙂

  8. My son has had ADHD and struggles against dyslexia also. Reading for him is just as you described for you. This gives me hope, that when it is really needed, he too, will be able to read the Word to others…

    Thank you for sharing the story!

    • Where and when I grew up ADHD and dyslexia was unknown, and you were just a problem child, which led to a lot of beatings and paddling. Well today we drug these children which I know in my heart is not what God wants for these children. Oh how I long to come to your son and encourage him I so understand the problem he has I know in my heart God has for him a very special task picked only he can do. Till I am able to meet face to face I shall be one in the Spirit in pray with you before the Throne for him. May the hope and the peace of Jesus be with you both, Amen.

  9. I love this story and the prayer you prayed. That is going to be my prayer too!
    May God continue to speak through you and open the hearts of children to hear and believe.

    • A pray of complete surrender it is not first time I have used this prayer. 🙂 Thank-you for your prayer and blessing you know now you are as much of part of this task as I am. God Bless, James

  10. God bless in your endeavors. vw

  11. Grace of the Holy Spirit is within you.
    Good work.

  12. May His Blessing continue to guide and enrich you and those you come in contact with. You are in my heart and prayers dear brother!

    • Oh Dear Sebastian, I receive your blessings and prayer with an open heart and hands to pass on to the children , Amen. You are one of the few who have known of Donkey Tells from almost the beginning and have held me in your prayers, Now my dear brother your reward is an equal reward in the harvest, may your store rooms be filled to over flowing now and forever, Amen.

Leave a Reply

Inklings

A blog about writing, creativity, and following Jesus Christ

I love the Psalms

DavidKitzWordPress.com site

Proverbial Thought

Your Daily Word of Wisdom from Proverbs

Agape: Lifestyle Blog

I may be a mess, but I'm a beautiful mess because of Jesus

osarobohenry

Just another WordPress.com site

Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human

atimetoshare.me

My Walk, His Way - daily inspiration

HOBO UNIVERCITY

This WordPress.com site is dedicated to saving my world at anycost

A Story By Me

as I'm learning to see

The True Light

"I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life." ~John 8:12

Let Your Light Shine

Prayers for the broken, humble, and grateful.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

insidemyhobbybinder

Glimpses into SW VIRGINIA AND NE TENNESSEE, PLUS A FEW EXTRAS

Mugisha Thoughts Blog

Change Obey Endure Project™

CRAZY LIFE

I was born not knowing and have only little time to change that here and there

josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seeking

."....seeking the mind of Christ."

thotsfromgeorge

Just another WordPress.com site

Barwon District Anglican Churches

The Anglican Churches of Walgett, Collarenebri, Cryon, and Rowena in North West NSW Australia

The Gospel of Barney

A Country Parson

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

a simple man of God

Hopefully making theology simpler to understand!

The little Sons and Daughters of the Divine Will

Learning how to live in the Divine Will, Luisa Picaretta and the Kingdom of the Divine Will, Messages Our Lord gave to her,and so much more

Lionel Sneed Ministries

Hebrews 12:15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God...

Humble Heart Scribbles

Poem and prose, from my heart to yours

Jesus is King

Twitters Anonymous

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Trinity Studios Pictures Blog

Encourage Inspire and Challenge

The Recovering Legalist

Living a Life of Grace

Desire the word

A Desire To Walk In God's Word

Sue's Pen2PaperBlog

Join six time published author in her adventures with a pen.

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Thee Bloomin Idiot

Reason To Sing

For He Has Given Me Everything And More

Dreams Of Dunamis

Revealing the spiritual world and setting the captives free...

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

vwoods1212

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simpleimages2

about books,poetry, and images

The Weekly Word & Much More

A spiritual retreat for all who visit

Enough Tribulations Peace & Deliverance Ministries

Finding Peace and Deliverance in the Midst of Tribulations

Step Ahead

Sharing thoughts and ideas as we prepare for the journey ahead

forging4th

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pieces of Gravity

Pretending to be normal helps.

